September 7th, 2020

Hello Friends!

Due to COVID19, the remainder of my 2020 concerts have been canceled. However, that does not mean the music stops; “the show must go on!” In July I took my first steps into the digital frontier, and now as we move into the fall I am pleased to announce a new series of digital offerings made possible through “Patreon.” 

March 10th, 2020

Dear friends, 

It is my utmost sadness to tell you that the rest of my spring and summer performances have been cancelled due to the Coronavirus Pandemic. I was so looking forward to all the exciting concerts coming up and I am gutted I won’t be able to share my music with you in person at this time. Stay safe, everyone. 

Xoxo Joyce 

March 1st, 2020

Joyce Yang brought down the House in Utah and California (McCallum Theater, Palm Springs Friends of Philharmonic) playing Gershwin’s jazzy Concerto in F with the Utah Symphony Orchestra and Thierry Fischer. Utah Arts Review praised Yang’s technical and emotional prowess after her performance at the Abravanel Hall: “The Korean-born pianist is a very musical player with the technical chops to match, both of which she displayed to the fullest Friday.

February 4th, 2020

Joyce Yang returned to Minneapolis, MN for a solo recital presented by the Frédéric Chopin Society. Minneapolis Star-Tribune wrote “Yang’s recital at Macalester College confirmed her standing as a performer of scintillating energy and imagination”, praising her interpretation as “imperious, with a fearless, fiery quality that in places recalled the great Argentine pianist Martha Argerich.“ 

Read the Full Review

January 5th, 2020

To celebrate the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth, five pianists (Jon Nakamatsu, David Fray, George Li, Till Fellner, and Joyce Yang) came together in Fort Worth to perform all five of Beethoven’s piano concerti back to back with the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra and music director Miguel Harth-Bedoya. Yang dazzled in the Bass Performance Hall once more, as she did in the 2005 Van Cliburn Piano Competition, where she was a silver medal winner.

December 3rd, 2019

Joyce Yang performed music of Liszt, Schumann and Carl Vine at Pickman Hall for the Celebrity Series of Boston. She received high praises from Boston Classical Review for her rendition of Liszt’s B minor Sonata: “The Korean pianist has a fine feel for Lisztian flair. Her technique throughout was superb, and she charted the sonata’s cascading runs and surging crescendos with precision and bravura. Yang also found a sweep and sensitivity in the sonata’s lyrical passages that offered poignant departure from the oft-heard crash-and-bang intensity.